A case study in network TV

I remember when The CW network was first launching, and I sat down for an interview with network chief Dawn Ostroff – she said The CW was a “new network for this new millenium” and that they were going to try to do things differently.

I am not sure how much of that has panned out, as admittedly, I have not been paying attention much to The CW since I left NPR and stopped covering the TV beat.

However, I found it a fascinating development that Ostroff has decided to discontinue programming on Sunday nights, and allow affiliate stations to counterprogram at will.

It’s almost an old-school model. I remember growing up on local TV channels where the weekend’s were filled with reruns and movie nights. I wonder if we’ll be going back to that model, at least in the short run.

Leave a Comment

